Zanu PF poll head start as 5 candidates declared winners

Winning candidates in Harare, Chiredzi declared uncontested for the February 3 by-elections

By Staff Reporter

Five Zanu PF candidates have been declared winners of respective council wards in Harare and Chiredzi after a recent High Court and ZEC on their CCC challengers at the behest of self-styled opposition interim secretary general Sengezo Tshabangu left them uncontested in the February 3 by-elections.

In a notice, ZEC Chief Elections Officer Utoile Silaigwana declared five Zanu PF candidates as winners for the wards.

“The public is hereby informed that following the High Court Order issued on the 19th of January 2024 under case number HCH197/24, the nomination of Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) party candidates specified in Schedule 1 below who had been nominated for elections in by-elections scheduled for the 3rd of February 2024 has been set aside,” Silaigwana declared.

The ZEC boss listed the banned candidates as Musingashari Musingashari (Chiredzi Ward 6), Roger Chikonye (Chiredzi Ward 7), Samuel Gwenzi (Harare Municipality Ward 5), Ian Makone (Harare Ward 18) and Innocent Kuziva Haparari (Manyame RDC).

“Consequently,” he added, “the public is hereby notified, in terms of section 125 (4)(a) of the Electoral Act (Chapter 2:13), that since only one candidate has been duly nominated for each of the specified vacant wards, the persons specified in Schedule 2 below have been duly elected as members of the local authorities with effect from 3 February 2024.”

Zanu PF councillors declared winners are Costen Mombe (Chiredzi Ward 6), Brighton Nyashadzashe Mahiya (Chiredzi Ward 7), Abdurrahman Sapa (Harare Ward 5), Rufaro Daniel Matsika (Harare Ward 18) and Simbarashe Ngarande (Manyame RDC).

The country is set to hold some by-elections in parts of the country February 3 to elect representatives in parliamentary and council constituencies where CCC candidates were ousted.

Tshabangu has ordered recalls on dozens of representatives elected on a CCC ticket during national elections August last year arguing he is out to reverse the imposition of candidates by party leader Nelson Chamisa.

Following their recalls, the ousted 23 CCC politicians defiantly filed for nomination under their party arguing they were genuinely under the authority of Chamisa.

But Tshabangu went to the courts to file for their ejection from the ballot arguing they could not legally contest the poll under a party that sponsored their recalls.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button