Zanu PF’s Scott Sakupwanya declared winner of Mabvuku-Tafara seat

Poll challenger was disqualified after Tshabangu court challenge

By Staff Reporter

Zanu PF’s Pedzisai Scott Sakupwanya has been declared winner of the Mabvuku-Tafara after his only opponent in the Harare parliamentary by-election Febion Kufahakutizwi of CCC was disqualified at the behest of a Thursday High Court order which barred recalled opposition lawmakers from seeking a return to parliament under the main opposition’s banner.

In a statement Friday, Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) Chief Elections Officer Utloile Silaigwana said the gold dealer was walking into parliament unopposed.

“Since there were only two candidates nominated for the Mabvuku-Tafara National Assembly constituency by-election, Sakupwanya Pedzisai of Zanu PF is the sole candidate that was duly nominated, hence there will be no by-election in that constituency on 9 December 2023.

“Consequently, the public is hereby notified that Pedzisai Sakupwanya of Zanu PF has been duly elected member of the National Assembly for Mabvuku-Tafara constituency with effect from 9 December 2023,” Silaigwana said.

Kufahakutizwi was disqualified along with 21 CCC legislators, among them eight senators, after party politician Sengezo Tshabangu, who styles himself as CCC interim secretary general, had challenged the ousted lawmakers’ decision to file for nomination under CCC.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button